School of Arts and Sciences

Lisa Gentile, Dean
Scott Gust, Associate Dean
Lance Newman, Associate Dean

Undergraduate Programs of the School of Arts and Sciences

The School of Arts and Sciences is the largest and most diverse of the four schools at Westminster. 
Programs range from the traditional arts and sciences to professional offerings such as communication and computer science. Most of the college’s liberal education courses are offered through the School of Arts and Sciences.

The School of Arts and Sciences encompasses the instructional offerings listed below:

Anthropology Film Studies Philosophy
Art and Fine Arts French Physics
Arts Administration Gender Studies Political Studies
Biology Geology Pre-Dental
Chemistry History Pre-Law
Chinese Honors Program Pre-Medical
Communication Japanese Psychology
Computer Information Systems Justice Studies Religious Studies
Computer Science Latin Sociology
Engineering 3–2 Mathematics Spanish
English Music Theatre Arts
Environmental Studies Neuroscience  

See individual programs in Arts and Sciences to determine whether a B.A., B.S., or B.F.A. degree isconferred.

Graduate Programs of the School of Arts and Sciences

(See Graduate Academic Catalog for detailed information on graduate programs.)

Master of Professional Communication

The Westminster Master of Professional Communication (MPC) program is designed to help individuals enhance their communication skills and develop expertise in a specialized communication field.

The Master of Professional Communication (MPC) program and the related Communication Certificates are designed to prepare writers and communication experts for positions in business, industry, government, or any other organization where communication skills are essential. MPC classes are held during evenings and on weekends, and students may enroll in as many or as few courses as scheduling allows.

Master of Science in Mental Health Counseling

The Master of Science in Mental Health Counseling is a graduate program that prepares students for clinical practice and potential licensure as a Licensed Mental Health Counselor (L.C.M.H.C). This 3 year program requires 60 hours of graduate work, following guidelines established by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs and the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. Broad in scope, its focus and course work support a range of theoretical perspectives and potential practice with diverse treatment populations.

Master of Strategic Communication

The Master of Strategic Communication (MSC) is a five-semester, low-residency, competency-based graduate degree program designed to build and refine leaders in a variety of communication fields. The program focuses on developing a thorough understanding of the creative process along with a keen strategic sense. Students complete a series of applied communication projects in order to develop and demonstrate mastery of the essential knowledge and abilities required to lead in the area of strategic communication. Students create messaging across a variety of communication platforms, direct research related to audiences and organizations, manage and inspire creative resources, interface with clients at all levels, and orchestrate all these functions to maximize effectiveness.

Students attend two-day residencies in Salt Lake City, Utah, at the beginning of each semester and then work directly and individually with faculty members and with each other to build and demonstrate expertise. This highly personalized approach to education is a hallmark of Westminster College and is an important part of building leaders in the communication field. The program is specifically designed to accommodate the learning styles and life commitments of employed professionals: program learning resources are available to students anytime, anywhere, to ensure the program fits into the busy lives of today’s communication professionals.


Ranjan Adiga, Assistant Professor (English)
Jonathan Amburgey, Assistant Professor (Psychology)
Deyanira Ariza-Velasco
, Associate Professor (Spanish)
Brian Avery, Associate Professor (Biology/Neuroscience)
David Baddley, Associate Professor (Art) 
Richard BadenhausenKim Adamson Chair; Professor (Honors) 
Matt Baker, Assistant Professor (Communications)
Kara Barnette, Assistant Professor (Philosophy)
Bonnie Baxter, Professor (Biology)
Laura Bennett-Murphy, Professor (Psychology)
Frank Black, Assistant Professor (Chemistry)
Karlyn Bond, Associate Professor (Music)
Bradford (Bill) Bynum, Associate Professor (Mathematics)
Dan Byrne, Associate Professor (Computer Science)
Mary Jane Chase, Associate Professor (History)
Michael Chipman, Assistant Professor (Music)
Seong-In Choi, Assistant Professor (Psychology)
Christine Clay, Associate Professor (Biology/Environmental Studies)
Christopher Cline, Associate Professor (Physics)
Carolyn Connell, Professor (Mathematics)
Peter Conwell, Associate Professor, (Physics)
Russell Costa, Assistant Professor (Honors/Neuroscience)
Jonas D’Andrea, Assistant Professor (Mathematics)
Alan Davison, Professor (Spanish)
Brandon Derfler, Assistant Professor (Music)
Sean Desilets, Associate Professor (English, Film Studies)
William Deutschman, Associate Professor (Chemistry)
Georgiana Donavin, Professor (English)
David Dynak, Beverley Taylor Sorenson Endowed Professor (Arts Education)
Lesa Ellis, Professor (Neuroscience)
Katherine Evans, Assistant Professor (English)
Gregory Gagne, Associate Professor (Computer Science)
Peter Goldman, Professor (English)
David Goldsmith, Professor (Geology)
Scott Gust, Associate Professor (Speech)
Stephen Haslam, Assistant Professor (French)
James Hedges, Associate Professor (Speech/Communication)
Leonardo Figueroa Helland, Assistant Professor (Political Science)
Elizabeth Herrick, Assistant Professor (Mathematics)
Angela Hicks, Associate Professor (Psychology)
Helen Hodgson, Professor (Communication)
Paul Hooker, Professor (Chemistry)
Helen Hu, Associate Professor, (Computer Science)
Robyn Hyde, Associate Professor (Chemistry)
Clayton Keyes, Assistant Professor (Art)
Betsy Kleba, Assistant Professor (Biology)
Matthew Kruback, Associate Professor (Art)
Jared Larkin, Assistant Professor (Theatre)
Christopher LeCluyse, Associate Professor (English); Director, Writing Center
Gary Marquardt, Associate Professor (History)
Nicholas More, Professor (Philosophy)
Fatima Mujcinovic, Professor (English)
Curtis Newbold, Assistant Professor (Communication)
Lance Newman, Professor (English)
Jeffrey Nichols, Professor (History)
Kristjane Nordmeyer, Assistant Professor (Sociology)
Brent Olson, Assistant Professor (Environmental Studies)
Giancarlo Panagia, Assistant Professor (Justice Studies)
Michael Popich, Professor (Philosophy)
Paul Presson, Associate Provost; Associate Professor (Psychology)
Christopher Quinn, Professor (Music)
Sean Raleigh, Assistant Professor (Mathematics)
Jennifer Ritter, Associate Professor (English as a Second Language)
Judith Rogers, Professor (Biology)
Mark Rubinfeld, Professor (Sociology)
Natasha Sajé, Professor (English) ; Director Anne Newman Sutton Weeks Poetry Series
Colleen Sandor, Associate Professor (Psychology)
Christine Seifert, Associate Professor (Communication)
Gretchen Siegler, Professor (Anthropology)
Jennifer Simonds, Associate Professor (Psychology)
Barbara Smith, Director of Learning Communities; Professor (Psychology)
Tamara StevensonAssistant Professor (Speech/Communication)
Julie Stewart, Assistant Professor (Sociology)
Michael Vought, Professor (Theatre)
Nina Vought, Assistant Professor (Theatre)
Janine Wanlass, Professor (Psychology)
Richard Wellman, Associate Professor (Mathematics)
Janine Wittwer, Associate Professor (Mathematics)
Rulon Wood, Associate Professor (Communication)
Kimberly Zarkin, Professor (Communication)
Michael Zarkin, Professor (Political Science)
Holly Zullo, Assistant Professor (Math)