Background Check & Fingerprinting through the Utah State Office of Education
Utah Law (53A-1a-512.5) requires that each applicant for a Utah Educator License satisfactorily complete a background check. To complete the background check, an applicant must submit fingerprints for review by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
Local and Federal Background Check
Go to the website: Educator Licensing Online
The online background check requires a fee of $69.00 and is payable only by major credit card.
If you live in Utah, you will need to do a live fingerprint scan. A current list of Livescan sites, hours and other specific requirements* is available at: Livescan.
The fingerprinting scan requires a fee of $20.00*. *Cash Only. You have 60 days from the date of your background check to complete your fingerprinting.
Further information can be found at the Utah State Office of Education.