A private comprehensive liberal arts college in Salt Lake City, UT, offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in liberal arts and professional programs. Website
Theme Committee

Theme Committee


The common theme is administered by a committee of students, faculty, and staff representing the college’s many constituencies. That body also selects the common read.  Each year, members of the theme committee solicit suggestions for possible titles that might relate to the year’s place based theme, winnow that extensive list down to three or four selections, read the final options, and then select a text.  This group also coordinates the many theme-related activities that take place across campus each year.

Members of the committee include the following: 

  • Diane VanderPol, Library (chair)
  • Gary Daynes, Integrated Learning (past- chair)
  • Richard Badenhausen, Honors Program
  • Alexa Banks, Student
  • Karlyn Bond, Music
  • Kerry Case, Environmental Center
  • Kimberly Cheney, Student
  • Krista DeAngelis, Office of Communications
  • Sean Desilets, Film
  • Darlene Dilley, Admissions 
  • Mark Ferne, Dean / Student Affairs
  • Danielle Hartman, Student
  • Susan Heath, Student Affairs
  • Lynn Heinlein, President's Office
  • Annalisa Holcombe, Alumni
  • Karen Hicks, START Center / Student Orientation
  • Robyn Hyde, Chemistry
  • Carol Jeffers, Nursing
  • Cassidy Jones, Student 
  • Jeff McCarthy, English / Environmental Studies
  • Cordilia Schaffer, Nursing
  • Barb Smith, Psychology / Learning Communities
  • Trisha Teig, Student Affairs
  • Dana Tumpowski, Alumni
  • George White, Public Health