Sustainability Council

The purpose of the Sustainability Council is to advocate for sustainability across campus. Sustainability is a commitment to meeting the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. This is accomplished through balancing the environment, social equity, and economic impacts.

Specifically, the council responsibilities are to

  • Advise Westminster administration on matters related to sustainability
  • Integrate sustainability into the curriculum, operations, and campus life to create awareness and action among students, faculty, staff, and community
  • Set high level vision and priorities regarding sustainability on campus and in the communi
  • Lead participation in the American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment (ACUPCC), Sustainability Tracking, Assessment, and Rating System (STARS), and other sustainability ratings and certifications


Council meets monthly during the academic year and is made up of 12–18 faculty, staff, students, and community members. Included in this total are

  • Environmental Center Director (Chair)
  • VP for Finance and Administration
  • 4 faculty members from a minimum 2 schools and a diversity of departments
  • 4 staff including a representative from Student Life and Facilities
  • 4 students including environmental leaders and at least one non-ENVI major
  • At least one member of the Diversity Council
  • At least one outside member (community, alumni, etc.)

Additional members may be appointed as space allows. Members serve two year terms (except for outside members and students who can serve single year terms), and members can renew for additional terms. New members are selected to serve at the discretion of the existing council.

2015–2016 Members

  • Kerry Case, Environmental Center Director & Assistant Provost for Integrative Learning (Chair)
  • Curtis Ryan, VP for Finance and Administration
  • John Watkins, Professor of Economics
  • Carol Jeffers, Associate Professor of Nursing
  • Brent Olson, Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies
  • Nohemy Solorzano-Thompson, Professor
  • Ryan Harrison, Information Services
  • David Herzog, Associated Students of Westminster College
  • Representative, Bon Appetite
  • Josh Wennegren, Alumni/Community Representative
  • Dale Biancucci, Plant Operations
  • Kate Puddy, Student Sustainability Coordinator
  • Syd Sattler, Organic Garden Coordinator
  • Holden Rasmussen, Eco-Living Resident Advisor