A private comprehensive liberal arts college in Salt Lake City, UT, offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in liberal arts and professional programs. Website
Honors Book Awards

To encourage and recognize excellence in written work in the Honors seminars, the program gives cash awards to the best essays written annually in four different categories. The Honors Council also chooses from among those winning papers a "Best Honors Program Essay of the Year," whose writer receives an additional cash award. Awards are announced at the annual spring Honors banquet and winners have their names engraved on a plaque that hangs in Nunemaker Place, home of the Honors program. The awards for the 2015-2016 academic year were:

Category 1 (Humanities)

  • Holden Rasmussen, "How Does Panopticism Operate in Physical Space?"

Category 2 (Sciences)

  • **Elaine Sheehan, "The Connection Between Body, Soul, and the Gothic Villain" 

Category 3 (Social Sciences)

  • Nathan Holtman, "Crime and Society: The 'Rational' Perpetuation of the Social Contract"

Category 4 (Special Topics & Cross-Listed Classes)

  • No Award

The Honors Council, in conjunction with the Honors director, will also select a paper to submit for the NCHC's annual Portz Scholar competition, which is the national competition for best undergraduate writing in Honors programs. Three winners of Portz awards receive $250 each and are recognized at the NCHC's national convention.  Typically, that paper will be selected from an upper-level Honors Book Award paper or an essay generated from an Honors Independent Summer research Grant.

**Best essay of the year award.